Jaya and Vijaya are the two gatekeepers of Vishnu’s residence (Vaikuntha Lok).  According to the Bhagavatam, the Four Kumaras – Sanaka, Sanandana, Sanatana, and Sanatkumara, who are the manasaputras of Lord Brahma (sons born from the thought influence of Brahma), were wandering across the worlds when one day they decide to pay a visit to Lord Narayana – Lord Vishnu’s form that rests on Shesh naga.

jaya and vijaya gatekeepers of lord vishnuThe Sanat Kumaras move towards Jaya and Vijaya and ask to be admitted in. Now for the reason of the strength of their tapas, the four Kumaras come out to be just children, though they are of a big age. So, Jaya and Vijaya, the gate keepers of the Vaikuntha prevent the Kumaras at the gate mistaking them as children. They also tell the Kumaras that Lord Vishnu is resting and that they cannot visit him now. The enraged Kumaras tell Jaya and Vijaya that Vishnu is accessible for his devotees any time, and cursed them both that they would have to give up their sanctity, be born as mortals on Earth and live like regular human beings.

When Vishnu woke up, he got to know what has happened and is regretful for his two dwarapalakas, who are cursed by the grand Sanat Kumaras just for doing their obligation. He apologized to the Sanat Kumaras and vows to his doorkeepers that he will do his maximum to help them go through the series of Life and Death. He cannot lift the curse of the Sanat Kumaras straightforwardly, but present them with two options:

The first alternative is that they could either be born seven times on Earth as devotees of Vishnu, and the other choice is that they could be born three times as his foe.  After serving any of these sentences, they can re-attain their importance at Vaikuntha and live with him permanently.

Jaya-Vijaya cannot bear the idea of staying away from Vishnu for seven janmas, even as his devotees. As an dwarapalakas of vishnu jaya and vijayaoutcome, they decide to be born three times on Earth even though it would have to be as enemy of Vishnu. Vishnu then takes Avatars and releases them from their lives.


Jaya and Vijaya Takes 3 Births to be Killed by Vishnu

In the first birth as foe to Vishnu, Jaya and Vijaya were born as Hiranyaksha and Hiranyakasipu in Satya Yuga. Hiranyaksha was an Asura the son of Diti and Kashyapa. He was slain by God Vishnu after he (Hiranyaksha) took the Earth to the foot of what is known as the “Cosmic Ocean”. Vishnu took the Avatar of a boar (Varaha Avatar) and dove into the ocean to boost the Earth, in the process of slaying Hiranyaksha who was obstructing Him. The fight lasted for about one thousand years. He had an senior brother named Hiranyakashipu, who after having undertaken contemplation which made him unbelievably powerful and unbeatable unless a certain condition were met, was later slain by the lion-headed Narasimha, another form of Vishnu.

jaya and vijaya halebidu
Jaya and Vijayas Sculpture at the Helebidu Temple complex

In the next Treta yuga, Jaya and Vijaya were born as Ravana and Kumbhakarna, and were killed by Lord Vishnu in His avatar as Lord Ram. At the end of the Dwapara Yuga, Jaya and Vijaya took their third birth as Sisupala and Dantavakra and Vishnu appeared as Krishna along with Balarama and yet again killed them.

So as they shifted from one life to another, they moved  nearer to God – finally going back to Vaikuntha.

Temple Purohit

TemplePurohit.com is a one-stop destination for all your spiritual needs - Get in-depth information on Spiritual topics, temples across India, have in-depth discussion on topics such as Astrology, Spiritual developments & meditation.

More Interesting Articles on Hinduism For You

Leave a Reply