Popular Temples

108 Most Famous Temples of Shiva – A Must Visit

Shiva meaning “The Auspicious One” is one of the three major deities of Hinduism. He is worshiped as the Supreme God within Shaivism, one of the three most influential denominations in contemporary Hinduism and is also called “the Creator, the Preserver, the Transformer and the Destroyer”. At the highest level, Shiva is regarded as formless, limitless, transcendent, and unchanging. Shiva […]

Famous Hanuman Temples in India
Popular Temples

10 Famous Hanuman Temples in India

Hanuman is a Hindu God and an ardent devotee of Lord Rama. He is one of the central figures in the Hindu epic Ramayana and its various versions. As one of the Chiranjivi he is also mentioned in several other texts, including Mahabharata, the various Puranas and some Jain texts. Vanara (monkey), Hanuman participated in Rama’s war against the demon king Ravana. Several texts also present him as […]

Navagraha Temples in India
Astrology, Hinduism, Popular Temples

Navagraha Temples in India

Navagraha temples are the ones devoted to Navagraha – the nine major celestial bodies (Grahas) of Hindu astronomy. These celestial bodies are : Surya (Sun), Chandra (Moon), Mangala (Mars), Budha (Mercury), Brihaspati(Jupiter), Shukra (Venus), Shani (Saturn), Rahu (North Lunar Node) Ketu (South Lunar Node). The term ‘Navagraha temples’ refers to a cluster of nine separate temples, each an abode of one of the Navagrahas.   Navagraha Temple in […]

Jagannath Puri Temple Facts
Hinduism, Popular Temples

10 Jagannath Puri Temple Facts You Should Know

“Jagannathaswamy Nayanapathagamy Bhaba tumhe” The lord of the Jagat, literally translated to world is Lord Jagannath. Let us know some interesting facts of and about the place of the holy Jagannath Puri temple, one of the four cardinal points of India. Including Indians, many people might know about Odisha as a small state in East India, […]

Jyotirlinga Temples - The 12 Jyotirlinga Shrines of Lord Shiva
Hindu Gods, Hinduism, Popular Temples

Jyotirlinga Temples – The 12 Jyotrilinga Shrines of Lord Shiva

12 Jyotirlingas or Dwaadasa Jyotirlinga means the 12 Linga that has emerged in the form of Jyothi(Flame). Originally there were believed to be 12 Jyotirlingas. The most important thing here is that – the 12 jyotirlingas are Swayambhu Lingas – which have emerged on their own; which were neither carved nor were a result of […]

Sree Padmanabhaswamy Temple - Thiruvananthapuram
Popular Temples

Sree Padmanabhaswamy Temple – One of the Holiest Abodes of Vishnu

Sree Padmanabhaswamy Temple is located in Thiruvananthapuram, which is situated in the south-western Indian state of Kerala. The principal deity worshiped at this temple is Vishnu. According to one source, Sree Padmanabhaswamy Temple is one of the 108 Divya Desams in India. These 108 temples are mentioned by the Hindu Azhvars (saints) between the 6th […]