Prayer to ask for forgiveness

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    iamsubra100
    Participant

There are a few life incidents that I wanted to talk about:

Twenty years back, I was a naive young college student. I was very ambitious in life but at the same time very close to my mother and father. Very attached to them. I however made some small mistakes at that time which I feel impacted my parents a lot. Few years later, my Mom in fact passed away. Please do not judge me for this. I was naive then and didn’t realize the big mistake I was doing. I was young and brash then.

I also had a sister then who was very close to me. We had a small misunderstanding then and for a long time, I felt very sad about it. For a long time, the festival of Raksha Bandhan would bring tears to my eyes for this one incident. I don’t want to go into who did wrong here or what went wrong, but it hurt me a lot that because of me (maybe indirectly), my beloved sister got hurt. Of course, she has a heart of gold and is still as caring and affectionate to me as ever.

Many years later, I got married, had a child. Now I am going thru a terrible patch – My darling daughter is having serious health issues. I don’t even know how things will shape up for her and am very worried for her.

Somehow I feel God is punishing me for the sins I committed twenty years back, which makes me feel really bad. How can I atone for these sins? I am not a bad person. Will God forgive me? Any prayer I can chant regularly to improve the above situations. Please advise.

tanmoy
    Participant