Navratri 2017 Dates

Navratri 2017 Date and Time, Puja, Details, History

Believed as the root cause of creation, sustenance and annihilation, Durga is the principal form of the Mother Goddess in Hinduism. The name ‘Durga’ in Sanskrit means ‘invincible’. The syllable ‘du’ is synonymous with the 4 devils namely poverty, sufferings, famine and evil habits. The ‘r’ refers to diseases and the ‘ga’ is the destroyer of sins, injustice, irreligion, […]

Murugan and His Wives - valli and Devasena
Hindu Gods, Hinduism, Interesting Hindu Mythology Stories

Murugan and His Two Wives – Valli and Devasena

Lord Murugan, the son of Shiva and Parvati, is a much revered deity of Hindus especially in South India. He is known by various names like Kartikeya, Shanmukha (Shanmuga), Subramanian, Shadanana, Guha, Senthil, Saravana, Kumaraswamy and Skanda ( Refer 108 Names of Lord Murugan). His six most important shrines in India are the Arupadaiveedu or […]

Daily Life and Practices, Hinduism, Vedic Practices

16 Samskaras in Hinduism – The Hindu Way of Life

There are forty samskaras prescribed in the Vedas of which sixteen, called the Shodasha samskaras, are in practice today. These samskaras to be performed by or for an individual beginning with conception and continuing up to the last rites performed after death. They are done in the five different stages of a human life i.e. […]

Prajnanam Brahma Definition and Meaning - Mahavakyas
Ancient Indian Literature, Hinduism, Vedic Philosophy

Prajnanam Brahma Definition, Meaning – Mahavakyas from Upanishads

The phrase Prajnanam Brahma literally translates to this :- “Prajnanam”= intelligence.” Brahma”=” Brahman”. This means Brahman is intelligence. This is a Mahavākya. Mahavākyas are used in Hindu spiritual tradition for meditation and contemplation. They are usually taken from the Upanishads. Most commonly, Mahavakyas are considered four in number Prajnanam Brahma (प्रज्ञानम् ब्रह्मा) Aham Brahma Asmi (अहम् […]

Ancient Indian Literature, Spirituality, Vedic Philosophy, Vedic Practices

Vedanta Philosophy – The Different Schools of Vedanta

There are six Darshan, that is philosophy in Hinduism which are : Samkhya. Yoga. Nyaya. Vaisheshika. Mimamsa. Vedanta. Among these six schools, Vedanta is very popular and has it’s root in Vedas/ Upanishad (Shruti). Vedanta is a spiritual philosophy which deals with the following three elements and relationship between them: Brahman Atman World/Universe Different Vedanta […]

Jagannath Puri Temple Facts
Hinduism, Popular Temples

10 Jagannath Puri Temple Facts You Should Know

“Jagannathaswamy Nayanapathagamy Bhaba tumhe” The lord of the Jagat, literally translated to world is Lord Jagannath. Let us know some interesting facts of and about the place of the holy Jagannath Puri temple, one of the four cardinal points of India. Including Indians, many people might know about Odisha as a small state in East India, […]

What is Hindu Astrology or Jyotisham

What is Hindu Astrology or Jyotisha?

Jyotisha (or Jyotishyam from Sanskrit jyotissa, from jyotis- “light, heavenly body”) is the traditional Hindu system of astrology, also known as Vedic astrology. Vedanga Jyotisha is one of the earliest texts about astronomy within the Vedas. However, historical documentation shows that horoscopic astrology in the Indian subcontinent came from Hellenistic influences, post-dating the Vedic period. Jyotisa is one of the Vedanga, the six auxiliary disciplines used to support Vedic rituals. Early jyotiṣa is […]